The Baking Haven

Adventures in my Kitchen

Bacon-Wrapped Chicken Surprise! February 14, 2007

Filed under: main courses — thenovicebaker @ 3:15 pm

Today, for the first time, I whipped up a meal for Valentines’ Day.
Saved all the extravagant spending for a good meal at home.

Came across this interesting recipe on Oprah.com and decided to try it out.

Was a lil skeptical with the use of Gorgonzola, a type of Blue Cheese. Hence, trusted my own instinct and headed to Carrefour to taste it at the counter. Thank goodness, I did so. Unfortunately, hated the taste of Gorgonzola … A lil toooo much for Blue Cheese. I may be a cheese lover, but my goodness… It didnt smell and taste nice at all. My own preference at least. In the end, the counter lady advised me on another kind of Blue Cheese which is a lil milder – Cambozola Bleu.

Anyhow, I made another supermarket booboo while purchasing my items. Was in a lil rush to grab my groceries, got myself almonds instead of walnuts. Hence, had no choice but to made do with it. (But I think it tasted better with Almonds. 😀 My own form of consolation. Hah.)

Made a lil mess with the stuffing preparation as I couldnt crumble the cheese as expected from the recipe. (A lil too gooey) Thus, I just mashed it all up and added the other ingredients in. I was almost quite sure my dish would already be a disaster since I chose a different Cheese and bought the wrong nuts.

baconchicken.jpg

Anyhow – Surprise surprise! Everyone loved it. Ok. Boyfriend loved it of coz (he doesnt always patronize me, ah hem!) and my family loved it too (Had some extras for them to try!). Yay! Success again!

And you know, I didnt marinate the chicken but it tasted so sweet and tender, especially in the middle portion. All thanks to the lovely bacon oil. Yummm. I served it with chedder buttered sweetcorn and my signature dish – Mashed Potatoes! Hah.

The next time I cook this – I’m going to make it into bite size. I also suggest using thinner breast slices and perhaps wrap the stuffing like sushi rolls, rather than create ‘pockets’ as read from the recipe.   

Let me know if anyone of you tried it with the original walnuts. I was really kinda happy with my almonds.

 

2 Responses to “Bacon-Wrapped Chicken Surprise!”

  1. qiu Says:

    so you just put the chicken and wrap with bacon?

  2. dawn Says:

    haha.. i stuffed the chicken with the nuts and cheese (plus all the herbs, pepper and salt), then carefully wrapp it up tightly with the bacon so that it wont come out when panfried.


Leave a comment